National Collegiate Book Collecting Contest

For me, 2012 has been the type of year where every bit of good news is a big deal.  So imagine my surprise and delight when I recently got one of those phone calls.

I placed second in the National Collegiate Book Collecting Contest.

Wow.  Just wow.  I still almost can’t believe that I placed.  It truly is a big deal, and a huge honor.  What’s more, the ABAA is arranging my attendance to the awards ceremony at the Library of Congress, taking place in October.

It is also a bittersweet victory.  I wrote my contest entry in the weeks leading up to and following my sister’s passing.  I promised her I’d enter this contest no matter what, so I did.  But after I found out I placed, I couldn’t call to tell her about it.  Instead, I called my mom, and we cried that Rachel wouldn’t be at the awards ceremony, or anywhere else.

The announcement from the ABAA for the 2012 contest winners can be found here.  In previous years, it has also included the winning entries’ full text.  It’s still early, so we’ll see.  If or when they do upload contest entries, my entry contains the answers to the following questions:

  • What prompted me to start my collection?
  • About how many books are in my collection, circa spring 2012?
  • What books have I been trying to find for years without success?

I’m super excited about placing, but of course, I have some wonderful people to thank.  I’d like to thank my mom (the enabler), who usually tells me it’s okay to buy yet another book, and my dad, for putting up with the book avalanche, as well as for staying up way past his bed-time to help me format my contest entry.  And I would like to give a big thank you to Martha Conway for writing such a wonderful recommendation for me, and for enthusiastically encouraging me to continue forward during really tough times.

UPDATE:  My full contest entry is now attached!  Kahan_NCBCC

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to National Collegiate Book Collecting Contest

  1. Nancy Medbery says:

    Brava Jessie. We are so proud of you!

  2. Jane Kahan says:

    Dear Jess,
    Congratulations on knowing your topic inside-out, writing your collection up with style, and PLACING in this contest, as an indie no less! You are amazing!!!! Rachel would be so pleased to know you are out there swinging, and hitting the ball out of the ballpark, to borrow a sports metaphor from Uncle Michael. Always with love, Mom

  3. sheila hooker says:

    How thrilling for you and your parents! You obviously have an amazing eye for just the right book, and an articulate way to present your collection. May this lead to a dream job for you, which you so clearly deserve.

  4. Val says:

    congratulations Jess! Would love to read your entry…. if they don’t post, would you include it here? Thanks,

  5. Congratulations. As an avid reader of your blog, I am very pleased, and not the least bit surprised to learn of this recognition. I believe your dear sister Rachel knows about this well-deserved award as well. I look forward to your continued successes, and have every belief that they are on the horizon; all you have to do is follow your heart.

  6. Michael says:

    Well done Jess, congrats.

  7. Peggy Fouts says:

    Congratulations Jess. I am sure you and your parents are so happy and proud – and should be. Awesome!

  8. Doug Aikenhead says:

    Congratulations, Jess! What a major achievement! Your blog looks terrific too. Best wishes for many more successes.

  9. Thanks everyone for all your well wishes and congratulations! My full contest entry is now posted.

Leave a Reply

