It’s All Over Now!

It's All Over Now!A few weeks ago, I had a birthday.  It wasn’t a major year divisible by five or ten or anything besides one and the number itself – yay for prime numbers – but it happened.  I had a major paper due the next day and ate too much for dinner that night, a deadly combination.  Anyway, what really stood out is the awesome birthday present the owner of Kaleidoscope Books (hi Jeff!) gave me when I went to work that day.  Considering it is now graduation season, this seemed like the perfect time to blog about It’s All Over Now!, illustrated by Wava McCullough and published in 1928.

Simply put, this journal is what my mom would call “over the top cool” and I agree.  Since, like My College Diary, It’s All Over Now! lacks the usual 200-300 page stories I blog about, I figured I’d share some pictures.  I had trouble propping the journal open while supporting it, so my fingers unfortunately appear in some of the pictures.

Once again, I’m starting off with the illustrated end papers.  Well illustrated end papers are always something to celebrate, and these are no exception.  The rear end papers are illustrated similarly, except instead of major areas of study the graduates are standing next to their occupation.  The women tend to be standing next to “teacher” and “marriage” while the men are next to “stocks and bonds” and “salesman.”  Make of that what you will, and remember that this is 1928.

Here are the classmates and officers!  This is an accurate representation of what students look like in college, no?

And these are my professors, just as I remember them!  They can carry enormous books in one hand, and constantly wear mortar boards.

Part of what is so cool about this style of illustrations is that it coincidentally features my former school colors.  The football team may very well still look like this, I do not know, as I have never attended a collegiate football game.  All I could fill out on this page would be that time I quit crew.

I find the “Amusements” page amusing, as the banners say “HARVAD” and “HICHIGAH” or something like that.  Also this illustration looks like a fire hazard, with the blanket so close to an open flame.

But of course, no collegiate experience is complete without a mention of mail.  That post man is carrying a bag full of letters, yet I don’t see a single sticker on any of the envelopes, so I know they must not be for me.  My “mom mail” always features a rather distinct look.

Commencement marks the ends of most collegiate experiences, and this journal even has a separate entry page for “Reunions.”  In the midst of commencement season, this illustration seems especially appropriate.  Congratulations to all who are recent graduates or graduating this month!

Side note:  The formatting for this post is really wonky.  I apologize, and am currently unable to fix it although I have tried repeatedly.  Word Press does not seem to respect my spacing no matter what I do, which is not the worst technology experience I’ve had this week by far.  This is merely a distant second and rather annoying.

This entry was posted in 1920s and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s All Over Now!

  1. I wish college students still looked like this. Old timey football uniforms and flapper haircuts are the best things.

  2. Mom says:

    Kaleidoscope Books really does hold so very many amazing treasures. Where on earth does Jeff find this stuff?
    What a fabulous/priceless birthday gift!!! (5 out of 5 stars!)
    The endpapers are so amusing, but then again fake Harvard and fake Michigan are pretty funny too.
    Off to rustle up some… outgoing Mom Mail!

  3. J0yce Kornbluh says:

    I enjoyed your comments and seeing the pages!

Leave a Reply

